Language, Projects

Project: Large Dot to Dot

This project is super easy, all you need is paper and a writing utensil. I chose some packing paper left over from when we moved last year, and some colorful markers.

Sometimes it is refreshing just to change a few things up from the way you normally do things. That is why I wanted to use large paper and have them color/draw on the kitchen floor.

My goal with this was to emphasize words with the letter F because that is what my toddler wanted to learn about this week.

As per usual, my toddler did not use the project in its intended fashion (to complete the dot to dots to draw the F themed pictures and write the letter over and over), but he did have fun with it. He added a “mommy”  (blue scribbles in middle picture) and then a “Morgan” the dog (not shown). He really liked the airplane and guessed the associated word was “fly”, but instead of tracing it he just circled it vigorously.

He did trace the big Letter F’s with his finger. I asked him if he wanted to use the markers and he said no. I asked him if he was afraid of messing up, and he said yes. I told him it’s okay to mess it up. I told him I can make more F’s but he hasn’t worked up the courage.

I moved the project to our dining table in case he wants to come back to it later.

Let me know how the project worked for you, if you end up trying it!

Leave a Reply

