About, Daily Lessons

What do you want your children to learn?

“I’ve been to day-school too,” said Alice; “you needn’t be so proud as all that.”

“With extras?” asked the Mock Turtle a little anxiously.

“Yes,” said Alice, “we learned French and music.”

“And washing?” said the Mock Turtle.

“Certainly not!” said Alice indignantly.

“Ah! Then yours wasn’t a really good school,” said the Mock Turtle…

Have you thought about what you want your children to get out of school? What qualifies as a good education for you?

This is a really hard question but I’ve been thinking about it and I came up with a little list. I am sure it will change as my children get older, but it’s a foundation to build on.

  1. Reading and Writing – I want them to be able to read and write at a level that will allow them to do well in a business environment.
  2. Mathematics – I want them to do all the basic math we do daily without a calculator (calculating tips, fractions, multiplication, division, addition, subtraction , basic algebra).
  3. Science – I want them to have a basic understanding of the different branches and how they fit together to make the world work.
  4. History – I want them to understand how our history affects us today, how to learn from our mistakes, and how to protect our futures.

More importantly, I want them to

  1. understand how to take care of themselves. Eat healthy, be safe, take care of their house and belongings.
  2. be good people who help those in need and are always respectful of everyone regardless of color, age, sex, or anything that may make someone different.
  3. know how to find answers to the questions they have. I want them to know where to learn more about the things they are interested in or may need to further themselves in school or work or life.
  4. how to spend/save/give money wisely.

The more I think about this, the longer the list gets, but I am confident they will learn everything that they need to learn and much more besides. I feel that the best place for them to learn all of these things is out in the real world, interacting with ordinary people, and seeing how things work first hand.

What do you want your children to learn?

Leave a Reply

