History, Projects

Make Your Own Flags

In honor of Independence Day (USA) on Tuesday, July 4, I am sharing an easy craft with you today.

You will need:

  • Tape
  • Index Cards
  • Straws or Sticks
  • Color : I used oil pastels because they are very bright. Crayons, Markers, Watercolor would all work well.

2017-07-02_13-17-46_359

Here’s how it works:

Color the index cards, and tape them to the sticks!

I told you it was simple!

Both my kids enjoyed this craft, and when the little one got bored I brought out some stickers to extend the fun.

2017-07-02_13-47-56_023

My three year old made “American” flags for himself and Daddy. And we very briefly discussed why we celebrate Independence Day. I also made a German flag and we talked about where Oma and mommy come from.

You can make this as educational or as free form as you like. I hope you enjoy!

2017-07-02_13-28-24_748

By the way, I stuck our old play dough in a little dixie cup to hold the finished flags.

 

Leave a Reply

