Cooking, Gardening

Zucchini – For Beginning Gardeners

The zucchini is such an easy plant to take care of, you don’t need any gardening skills!

If you buy a seedling, found anywhere seedlings are sold, and put it in the ground in a sunny location it will grow and grow and grow. You may need to water it every once in a while, but this monster plant does not complain. Keep taking off the zucchini when they are about 5 inches long and not too thick, and the plant will keep producing more and more.

My plant makes more zucchini than I can or want to eat so sometimes they get a lot bigger. They still taste great, though.

Here is how I cooked them the other day. It was quick, simple, and delicious.

  1. Slice your large zucchini into thick slices (half an inch? A centimeter? Keep in mind: the thinner they are, the faster they cook!)
  2. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in the frying pan over medium high heat.
  3. Lay the zucchini flat over the melted butter and sprinkle on salt and pepper. Cover with a lid and cook 2-5 minutes, shaking occasionally and poking with a knife to see if it is cooked to your liking.

Enjoy!

I admit my kids did not eat their zucchini, but I ate the whole thing for dinner and lunch the next day. I really enjoyed it, and I hold out hope that the kids will like it one day, too.

2 thoughts on “Zucchini – For Beginning Gardeners”

  1. Dr suggested zucchini instead of gf pasta. I don’t have zoodler so I just cut ends off and slice thinly lengthwise. I let heat from hot spaghetti sauce warm the zucchini. An acquired taste/texture for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

